Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

Beginning and completing the doctoral examination process

On July 11th 2018 the new doctoral regulations were published. Doctoral students who have already been admitted but who have not applied to begin the doctoral examination process yet have to declare in written form within one year beginning with the date of publication of the new regulations if they wish to be examined under the regulations of 2018 or the regulations they were admitted with. Please use the official form for the declaration: Erklärung zum Wechsel der Promotionsordnung.

Completion

 


Add a title page as per the PhD Regulations (Appendix 3, only available in German) and a declaration of independent work to your doctor’s thesis and have it hard bound (no ring binding). Submit at least five copies (the Institutes might decide that you have to submit more than five copies).

Application to begin the doctoral examination process

 


Submit the application to begin the Doctoral Examination Process to the Doctoral Office in your subject and with your specialisation, as required.
Additionally, please send a pdf-file of your thesis to the Doctoral Office. Include all of the documents named in section 6 of the PhD regulations separately.

Upon submitting this application, doctoral candidates who have already been admitted to the doctoral examination process but who have not yet applied to begin the process must choose whether they wish to be examined under the new or old PhD regulations. Use this declaration.

Doctoral examination process

 


Your application to begin the doctoral examination process will be checked in form by the Doctoral Office and in content by the department and Doctoral Degrees Committee. If all requirements are met, the Doctoral Degrees Committee will commence the doctoral examination process. Reviewers are commissioned and the Doctoral Degrees Committee is deployed. The reviewers are members of the Doctoral Degrees Committee.

The reviewers are asked to deliver their reports within two months.
Once all reviewer reports have been submitted and checked by the Doctoral Degrees Committee, they are made available for faculty professors to view for a period of two weeks within the Institute.

You can arrange a date for your defence in consultation with your supervisor and the chairperson of your committee in advance. We suggest to plan with at least three months from the commencement to the defence.

With a notice of two weeks, you will be invited to defend your thesis.

You will be able to read the reviewer reports two weeks before your defence.

After the defence you will receive an interim certificate, but are not yet entitled to use the title of doctor.

The doctoral examination process generally lasts for three to nine months.


Conditions will sometimes be put in place at the defence, or you may be required to correct shortcomings in the thesis. These must be completed before you can publish your thesis. The chair of your Doctoral Degrees Committee confirms in writing in the doctoral file that the conditions have been met.

Certification

 

 

You must submit deposit copies of your thesis to the University Library thesis department within a year of completing your defence.

You should provide the Doctoral Office with confirmation from the University Library and a declaration that the published thesis matches your submitted thesis. Your PhD certificate will then be printed.

It generally takes three to four weeks to issue the certificate (signatures, seal).

You are only entitled to use the title of doctor once you have been issued your PhD certificate. Berlin university regulations do not recognise the title of doctor designatus.

Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin - Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftliche Fakultät

Eröffnung und Abschluss des Promotionsverfahrens

Nach der Veröffentlichung der neuen Promotionsordnung vom 11. Juli 2018 müssen Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, die bereits zur Promotion zugelassen sind, aber noch keinen Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens gestellt haben, innerhalb eines Jahres schriftlich erklären, ob sie nach der neuen Promotionsordnung promovieren möchten, oder ob das Verfahren nach der Ordnung, nach der sie zugelassen wurden, durchgeführt werden soll (Erklärung zur Ordnung).

Unter „Ordnungen, Hinweise, Formulare“ finden Sie Merkblätter für die Eröffnung der Promotionsverfahren nach den außer Kraft getretenen Promotionsordnungen. Diese Merkblätter enthalten auch Hinweise bzw. Muster für die Anträge, Erklärungen etc. nach diesen Promotionsordnungen.

Folgende Hinweise gelten für die Promotionsordnung 2018:

Fertigstellung

 


Versehen Sie die Dissertationsschrift mit dem Titelblatt gemäß der Promotionsordnung (Anlage 3) und einer Selbstständigkeitserklärung und lassen Sie sie fest binden (Keine Ringbindung). Die Anzahl der einzureichenden Exemplare beträgt mindestens fünf, die Institute können dazu eigene Beschlüsse fassen.

Eröffnungsantrag

 


Sie stellen den Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens an das Promotionsbüro mit Hinweis auf ihr Fach und ggf. mit Ihrer Spezialisierung.
Senden Sie gleichzeitig ein pdf-Dokument der Dissertation an das Promotionsbüro. Fügen Sie alle in der Promotionsordnung unter §6 genannten Unterlagen separat bei.

Promotionsverfahren

 


Ihr Antrag auf Eröffnung des Promotionsverfahrens wird im Promotionsbüro formal und vom jeweiligen Institut und dem Promotionsausschuss inhaltlich geprüft. Sind alle Voraussetzungen erfüllt, eröffnet der Promotionsausschuss das Promotionsverfahren. Es werden die Gutachterinnen bzw. Gutachter bestellt und die Promotionskommission eingesetzt. Die Gutachterinnen bzw. Gutachter sind Mitglied der Promotionskommission.


Sind alle Gutachten eingetroffen und von der Promotionskommission geprüft, werden sie für zwei Wochen zur Einsicht für die Professorinnen und Professoren der Fakultät ausgelegt (Auslage).


Mit einer Frist von zwei Wochen wird zur Disputation eingeladen (Einladung).

Zwei Wochen vor der Disputation können Sie die Gutachten einsehen. Dies ist unabhängig davon, ob die Auslage schon beendet ist oder nicht.

Nach der Disputation erhalten Sie vom Promotionsbüro ein Zwischenzeugnis, das aber noch nicht zur Führung des Doktortitels berechtigt.

Das Promotionsverfahren dauert i.d.R. drei bis neun Monate. Bitte planen Sie den Disputationstermin erst, wenn der Eingang der Gutachten absehbar ist.


Gelegentlich werden bei der Disputation Auflagen erteilt oder es müssen Mängel in der Dissertation beseitigt werden. Diese müssen Sie erfüllen, bevor Sie Ihre Dissertation veröffentlichen können. Die oder der Vorsitzende Ihrer Promotionskommission bestätigt die Erfüllung der Auflagen schriftlich in der Promotionsakte.

Beurkundung

 


Innerhalb eines Jahres nach der Disputation müssen Sie die Pflichtexemplare Ihrer Dissertation in der Hochschulschriftenstelle der Universitätsbibliothek einreichen. Informationen zur elektronischen Veröffentlichung erhalten Sie auf den Seiten des edoc-Servers.

Reichen Sie die Bestätigung der Universitätsbibliothek und eine Erklärung darüber, dass die veröffentlichte Dissertation mit der eingereichten Dissertation übereinstimmt, im Promotionsbüro ein. Dann wird Ihre Promotionsurkunde gedruckt.

Das Ausfertigen der Urkunde (Unterschriften, Siegel) dauert i.d.R. drei bis vier Wochen.

Erst nach der Aushändigung der Promotionsurkunde sind Sie berechtigt, den Doktortitel zu tragen. Ein doctor designatus existiert nach Berliner Hochschulrecht nicht.